A Challenge Begun…

*The Beginning*

Always, I have had big dreams to challenge myself – traveling the world, flying in hot air balloons, putting words to thoughts and feelings that others leave so often unexpressed…

And always, I have almost starting something. I was going to write a book of poetry… and do a blog of a photo a day… and learn to write latin… and all kinds of crazy ideas. But like so many others, I didn’t get very far.

This time, I’m going to take several things I love very much: cooking, eating, and writing, and I’m going to combine them with support from my wonderful boyfriend and many friends who have the same love for food and adventure as I do.

*The Challenge*

Once a week (at least) I am going to make an entire meal (probably mostly dinner) based on the cultures from each country on our amazingly diverse world. I went through the entire list of 257 countries and took out the uninhabited islands and regions, I merged the islands together that don’t come across google as different recipe based sources, and I came up with a list of 232 countries. I did not include the US on my list, because I hope to continue the adventure at the end with meals for each state. If I do one per week, this should take me about 4.5 years. I plan on doing a couple of dishes per meal for some of them, so a few countries might end up lumped together for meals (like some of the African countries, and maybe the Caribbean Islands).

I’m not a professional at any of these things. But I think through growing into the new skills I need to learn to complete this adventure I will grow as a person, a cook, a writer, and hopefully a photographer for the food glory-shots that will inevitably accompany these posts.

*The Danger*

I have Crohn’s. That said, there are certain things that I cannot, will not, and should not eat. I’m sure more than one country on my list will require a little bit of fudging to make it healthy and safe for me to eat. I hope to learn along the way about Crohn’s and the things that my body will and will not put up with. I’m sure there will be meals that make my innards fight kungfu ninja style, but I hope to avoid that as much as possible. The foods that I absolutely cannot include in this are red meats and cheeses. I will try my best to get around the need for goat, cow, lamb, steer, horse, and other meats that can’t end up on this list or on my plate. Hopefully there are good substitutes out there!

*The Friends*

Once a month a group of us will be getting together to do a regionally based dinner together. I hope to have appetizers, main dishes, desserts, and drinks that fit the region we pick. These will be more elaborate in nature than the ones I will be doing each week, so I look forward to the possibilities other people will add to this adventure! The first of these dinners is set for July 31, so hopefully we will be able to settle on something like the last Sunday of the month so that people can plan for it.

*The Map*

I just ordered a map of the world to put up in our dining room. I’m going to put it on a corkboard and hopefully string tags to the outer border to show off everything that I’ve made. Photos to come soon!

*The Countries*

Here’s the list that I’m working from (the places in parentheses are either islands close enough to count or had to be linked because there wasn’t a separate culture/food type that I could find):

Afghanistan
Albania
Algeria
American Samoa
Andorra
Angola
Anguilla
Antigua and Barbuda
Argentina
Armenia
Aruba
Australia (Ashmore, Cartier, Christmas, Cocos (Keeling), Coral Sea, Northern Mariana, and Tuvalu Islands)
Austria
Azerbaijan
Bahamas, The
Bahrain
Bangladesh
Barbados
Belarus
Belgium
Belize
Benin
Bermuda
Bhutan
Bolivia
Bosnia and Herzegovina
Botswana
Brazil
British Virgin Islands
Brunei
Bulgaria
Burkina Faso
Burma
Burundi
Cambodia
Cameroon
Canada
Cape Verde
Cayman Islands
Central African Republic
Chad
Chile
China (Paracel Islands)
Colombia
Comoros
Congo, Democratic Republic of the
Congo, Republic of the
Cook Islands
Costa Rica
Cote d’Ivoire
Croatia
Cuba
Cyprus (Akrotiri and Dhekelia Islands)
Czech Republic
Denmark
Djibouti
Dominica
Dominican Republic
Ecuador
Egypt
El Salvador
England
Equatorial Guinea
Eritrea
Estonia
Ethiopia
Falkland Islands (Islas Malvinas)
Faroe Islands
Fiji (Wallis and Futuna Islands)
Finland
France
French Guiana
French Polynesia
Gabon
Gambia, The
Gaza Strip
Georgia
Germany
Ghana
Gibraltar
Greece
Greenland
Grenada
Guadeloupe
Guam (Wake Island)
Guatemala
Guernsey
Guinea
Guinea-Bissau
Guyana
Haiti (Navassa Island)
Holy See (Vatican City)
Honduras
Hong Kong
Hungary
Iceland
India
Indonesia
Iran
Iraq
Ireland
Ireland, Northern
Isle of Man
Israel
Italy
Jamaica
Japan
Jersey
Jordan
Kazakhstan
Kenya
Kiribati
Korea, North
Korea, South
Kuwait
Kyrgyzstan
Laos
Latvia
Lebanon
Lesotho
Liberia
Libya
Liechtenstein
Lithuania
Luxembourg
Macau
Macedonia
Madagascar (Bassas da India, Europa, Glorioso, Heard, McDonald, Juan de Nova, and Tromelin Islands)
Malawi
Malaysia
Maldives (British Indian Ocean Territory)
Mali
Malta
Marshall Islands
Martinique
Mauritania
Mauritius
Mayotte
Mexico (Clipperton Island)
Micronesia, Federated States of
Moldova
Monaco
Mongolia
Montserrat
Morocco
Mozambique
Namibia
Nauru
Nepal
Netherlands
Netherlands Antilles
New Caledonia
New Zealand (Tokelau)
Nicaragua
Niger
Nigeria
Niue
Norfolk Island
Norway (Jan Mayen and Svalbard Islands)
Oman
Pakistan
Palau
Panama
Papua New Guinea
Paraguay
Peru
Philippines (Spratly Islands)
Pitcairn Islands
Poland
Portugal
Puerto Rico
Qatar
Reunion
Romania
Russia
Rwanda
Saint Helena
Saint Kitts and Nevis
Saint Lucia
Saint Pierre and Miquelon
Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
Samoa
San Marino
Sao Tome and Principe
Saudi Arabia
Scotland
Senegal
Serbia and Montenegro
Seychelles
Sierra Leone
Singapore
Slovakia
Slovenia
Solomon Islands
Somalia
South Africa
South Georgia (South Sandwich Islands)
Spain
Sri Lanka
Sudan
Suriname
Swaziland
Sweden
Switzerland
Syria
Taiwan
Tajikistan
Tanzania
Thailand
Timor-Leste
Togo
Tonga
Trinidad and Tobago
Tunisia
Turkey
Turkmenistan
Turks and Caicos Islands
Uganda
Ukraine
United Arab Emirates
Uruguay
Uzbekistan
Vanuatu
Venezuela
Vietnam
Virgin Islands
Wales
West Bank
Western Sahara
Yemen
Zambia
Zimbabwe

About devouringworldbites

A girl on a mission to cook, eat, and write about the world, one country at a time. View all posts by devouringworldbites

One response to “A Challenge Begun…

Leave a Reply

