Austria…

Sunday, October 9 –

This weekend was Austria, which included veal (yes, baby cow), apple and cabbage saute, and knodel. I made everything just a little bit quicker than was recommended, because most of two of the three recipes wanted me to prep stuff and then let it sit for an hour, which I didn’t have time to do. However, everything still turned out extra delicious.

I started by putting the knodel together (half of the recipe), which looked and smelled a lot like American Thanksgiving stuffing. It was sauteed onions mixed with toasted bread, with milk and eggs thrown in. I let it sit for 20 minutes instead of the hour the recipe called for, and then I had to come up with a way to get the baking dish into a pot of steaming water. This meant that I not only had to use my biggest pan for the boiling water, I had to put a little dish at the bottom to keep the knodel dish raised up off the bottom of the pan. It definitely looked like I had a “MacGyver” moment, but it worked just fine. Set to steam for an hour, I moved on to the saute.

Onion, cabbage, and apple – what a great combination. Everything got a chance to simmer down to become soft, tender, and flavorful without hitting the mushy point. I made half of the recipe I posted, and it still made quite a lot. Definitely more food than 3 people could eat. For one dinner of 4 people I’d recommend cooking 1/4 of the recipe as it’s posted. Once that was on to simmer for 20 minutes, I moved on to the Wiener Schnitzel.

Roommate Extraordinaire helped to tenderize the veal – with his knuckles (which worked really well, actually). We made about 3/4 of a pound instead of the 2 pounds the recipe called for, because there were only 3 of us. Then one at a time the veal went into the egg mixture, then the bread crumbs, then into the hot oil. Because we had smaller, more tenderized cuts of meat than the recipe called for it didn’t take as long on each side to make them brown. After I cooked each one we put it under foil so we could eat all at the same time and not have lukewarm meat.

Once everyone was dished up, with melted butter drizzled on top of the knodel, I was instantly struck by the thought “comfort food”. The cabbage and apple saute I will definitely make again. I will probably make the ratio of cabbage/onion/apple a little more even, then throw some sausage in with it and serve it with something like squash. Yum! The wiener schnitzel was alright, not my favorite, but the flavor and texture were both good. And then there is the knodel – the extra, super, mega delicious steamed stuffing. It tasted like Thanksgiving without the turkey, and stuffing has ALWAYS been my favorite part of Thanksgiving dinner, so I probably could have eaten the entire dish of knodel. It was the perfect side, and I could easily see it going with a great many other types of protein and veggie sides. I’m definitely marking this one down as a favorite.

The guys, Wonderful Boyfriend and Roommate Extraordinaire, picked up beer from Austria and they both said it was like a “good pale pilsner”. I started by drinking white wine (definitely not regionally correct) and moved on to cider with Roommate Extraordinaire. He picked up a dark, dry, unbelievably good cider that I’m including on here just because it was that good.

Things I have learned: Some countries take a really long time to marinade and prep the food, which make it a little harder to do if you only have a small amount of time to make everything. But so far I’ve managed to make everything taste good anyway, so I’m going to assume that the leftovers for this will be even better than the day-of. While veal is baby cow, it didn’t set off my crohn’s, so either I’m becoming stronger in my digesting abilities or it isn’t as hard to break down the fibers of veal. Either way, it was good but not something I’d chose to make again. When seasoned well, cabbage makes an excellent side dish and I need to learn to add it to my arsenal of ingredients that I use on a regular basis.

Austria
(recipes borrowed from the cooks at: www.allrecipes.com and www.food.com)

Wiener Schnitzel

  •     2 pounds veal
  •     1 cup all-purpose flour
  •     4 eggs
  •     1 tablespoon vegetable oil
  •     salt and pepper to taste
  •     4 cups bread crumbs
  •     1/8 cup oil for frying

Directions:  Cut the veal into steaks, about as thick as your finger. Dredge in flour. In a shallow dish, beat the eggs with 1 tablespoon oil, salt and pepper. Coat the veal with egg mixture, then with bread crumbs. Heat 1/4 cup oil in a heavy skillet over medium heat. Fry veal until golden brown, about 5 minutes on each side.

Knodel

  •     1 onion, chopped
  •     2 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley
  •     2 teaspoons butter
  •     1/2 (1 pound) loaf white bread, toasted and cut into cubes
  •     2 eggs, beaten
  •     1 cup milk
  •     salt and pepper to taste

Directions:  Butter one 9×11 inch baking dish. In a skillet over medium heat, combine the onion, parsley and butter. Cook until onions begin to brown. Pour over bread cubes and toss well. Whisk together the eggs, milk, salt and pepper. Pour over the bread and onion mixture; mix well and allow to stand for 1 hour. Firmly press mixture into baking dish; tightly cover with aluminum foil. Place baking dish on a rack in a larger pot with 3 inches of water. Cover pot and steam for 1 hour. Remove from pot and allow to cool for 10 minutes. Drizzle with melted butter before serving.

Green Cabbage and Apple Sauté

  • 3 lbs head green cabbage, halved cored and coarsely shredded (12 cups)
  • 1 cup riesling wine
  • 2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons sugar
  • 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 large onion, thinly sliced
  • 2 granny smith apples, peeled halved, cored and sliced 1/8 inch thick
  • salt & freshly ground black pepper

Directions:

  1.  In a large bowl, toss the cabbage with the wine, lemon juice and sugar. Let marinate for 1 hour, tossing often.
  2. In a large deep skillet, heat the olive oil. Add the onion and cook over moderate heat until golden, about 8 minutes. Add the cabbage and its marinade and cook over moderately high heat, tossing, until wilted, about 5 minutes. Cover and cook over moderately low heat, stirring occasionally, until almost tender, about 20 minutes. Add the apples and toss well. Cover and cook, stirring occasionally, until the apples are just tender, about 10 minutes. Season with salt and pepper and serve.
About devouringworldbites

A girl on a mission to cook, eat, and write about the world, one country at a time. View all posts by devouringworldbites

Leave a Reply

