Barbados…

Monday, November 7 –

This dinner was a wonderful success and attended by friends that are new to my blog! So exciting! We had a total of 7 people: Hot Momma, Mr. Hero, Baby Bear, WingWoman, Roommate Extraordinaire, Wonderful Boyfriend, and myself. (At this rate, the names I’m coming up for people will be one of the biggest highlights of this project!)

I started with the marinade for the tuna steaks (minus one for my WingWoman because of the soy – I made her a custom marinade) and let them soak in the sauce while I put together the rest of the dishes. I actually got 2 papayas and a mango, because I thought it would be a good idea to tie all of the flavors together with something sharp, bright, and citrus-y. The salsa was made with: papaya, mango, lime juice, onion, garlic, salt, pepper, cilantro, and seeded jalapenos. I let that sit in the fridge to let the flavors mingle while I put the rest of the dinner together. I put rice in the rice cooker for this dinner, and knowing that most of us like white rice more than brown rice I picked that instead of what the recipe called for.

Next I made the papaya and black bean recipe exactly as it was written (which required much Quality Control by Hot Momma, to make sure it was perfect…). I let that continue to simmer on the stove while I got a pan nice and hot for the tuna steaks. I quick seared the steaks so that there was the lightest of brown searing on each side of the fish, and then dished it up with each of the sides. It was quickly decided by most everyone that the flavors were best when smooshed altogether onto one forkful. So if any of you decide to make this dinner, make sure that you take at least one bite with the 4 different flavors in one bite. I would definitely make any of these recipes again, and probably will!

Things I have learned: Serving something like seared tuna to a whole bunch of people requires a big enough pan to fire them all at the same time, or else some people end up with cold/lukewarm fish. Fortunately I had a pan big enough, so it worked out just fine, but it is definitely good to keep in mind. Also, the more the merrier, and the more the mmmmmmms and aaaaaaaahhhhhs I get the more successful I feel about this project. I hope that all of the people who would like to try a dinner get a chance to. So please, check out the upcoming countries and let me know if you want to join us!

Also, I will try to remember to get an updated map photo for you next time. The lines are starting to show how much fun we are having with this, and I can’t wait to see what it looks like when I’m all done.

Barbados
(recipes borrowed from the cooks at: www.islandflave.com)

Grilled Tuna Steaks

  • 4 Tuna steaks
  • 2 tbsp low sodium soy sauce
  • 1 tbsp Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 1 tsp Dijon mustard
  • 1 tbsp vegetable oil

Directions:  Place tuna in dish in a single layer. In a small bowl, whisk together the soy sauce, Worcestershire sauce, mustard & sugar Pour marinade over tuna, turn steaks until well-coated on each side. Cover, let stand in refrigerate for at least 30 minutes up to 2 hours. Heat the grill. Remove tuna and reserve marinade for basting. Grill tuna for about 5-10 on each side and basting often with reserved marinade.

Papaya Black Beans Rice

  • 1 Medium papaya, peeled, seeded, and diced
  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • 1/2 cup orange juice
  • 1/4 cup lemon juice
  • 1 cup chopped red onion
  • 2 tbsp fresh chopped cilantro
  • 1 Large finely chopped red bell pepper
  • 1 Large finely chopped green bell pepper
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 2 Garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 15-oz can black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 6 cups brown rice, cooked

Directions:  In large skillet heat oil over medium heat, add the onion, red, and green peppers. Add remaining ingredients except beans and rice. Cook for 5 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add the beans, stir and cook about 5 minutes. Serve over rice.

About devouringworldbites

A girl on a mission to cook, eat, and write about the world, one country at a time. View all posts by devouringworldbites

Leave a Reply

