Burkina Faso…

Wednesday, February 15 –

Please welcome a new blog guest, RubsWithLove! I am so happy that my list of enthusiastic blog participants keeps growing (that, and it’s too much fun to find names for everyone). I wish I could feed even more people! Love, for me anyway, can absolutely be expressed by the cooking and baking of food. Bad day? Let me make you something comforting. Sun is out? Let’s get everyone over to barbeque. Haven’t seen you in a while? Let me entice you to come over to eat! All of these things are, “You’re one of my favorites and I love you for you” in my language. Non-foodie people don’t really understand that, so I feel lucky that most of my friends and family do understand.We also had Amine Chef, Wonderful Boyfriend, and Roommate Extraordinaire. Thank you to Roommate Extraordinaire and RubsWithLove for bringing the wine for this dinner.

This dinner started a little different than the recipes, but I did try to not stray too much this time. I started by prepping and boiling the sweet potatoes. Then I diced an onion and a half and set those to saute in a little bit of veggie oil. I added the spices to the onions as they were turning from translucent to slightly browned. Then I added a pound and a half of ground lamb and mixed it all together. As that was cooking I went back to the potatoes. Drained, mashed, with a little bit of flour, salt, and pepper added. I left out the milk because I didn’t think that they needed any more liquid. Formed into balls and dipped into eggs, then dipped into bread crumbs. Straight into oil, pressed down a little so they were a patty shape instead of a ball shape. Flipped them once to brown on both sides, and set them on a plate with paper towels to drain.

Amine Chef had the job of helping to saute the zucchini (she and I both thought this meal needed something green added to it). I didn’t really watch, but I think there was a little bit of oil and quite a bit of garlic (so clear why we’re friends now, isn’t it…).

As the meal was coming together I realized that taking the meat off the stove, grinding it, turning it into balls, and then recooking it was just silly. So I just left it as unformed delicious smelling goodness. On the side I made the same yogurt sauce that was such a win for Bosnia.

Dinner was served! The lamb was spicy without having too much of a kick. The combination of cinnamon, ginger, red peppers, garlic, and coriander was just intoxicating. It was a very complex bite of meat with onion, let me tell you! The sweet potato patties were a combination of mashed sweet potatoes and sweet potato french fries – all the best parts of each. The zucchini were a perfect addition – green and garlicky. Yum.  The sauce was a wonderful addition to all of the flavors on the plate. I ended up piling everything together on each forkful and enjoying all of the tastes mingled and combined.

Things I have learned: Going back to favorites from earlier in this adventure is a great idea! Definitely make use of the amazing recipes I’ve stumbled across so far.

Burkina Faso
(recipes borrowed from the cooks at: www.celtnet.org.uk and www.healthy-life.narod.ru)

Burkinabe Spiced Lamb Balls

  • 200g yellow onions
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp powdered ginger
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp chilli flakes
  • 1 tsp ground coriander
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 4 tbsp groundnut oil
  • 900g cooked lamb cut into 3cm strips
  • 3 large eggs, lightly beaten
  • 50g breadcrumbs

Method: Add the salt to the groundnut oil and place in a large frying pan. Heat then add the yellows, cinnamon, ginger, garlic powder, chilli flakes, coriander and cooked lamb. Fry until the onions have softened. Allow the mixture to cool and put once through a meat grinder. Add the eggs and form into 3cm balls before dipping in the breadcrumbs. Chill for an hour in the fridge before cooking. Deep fry at 180°C for about 4 minutes until browned. Spear the balls with toothpicks and place in a bowl. Serve with a Piri-Piri dipping sauce

Sweet Potato Fritters (Krakro)

  • Ingredients:
  • 4 sweet potatoes
  • 3 eggs
  • 15 ml plain flour
  • 30 ml margarine
  • A little milk
  • Breadcrumbs

Cooking Instructions: Peel and boil the potatoes until tender. In a mixing bowl, mash the cooked potatoes and add in the flour, and a little salt, and mix well. Add milk as necessary to make a workable paste. Beat eggs and put into a shallow dish. Put the breadcrumbs into another shallow dish. Take a scoop of potato batter and make into a flat cake about 5mm deep and 5 cm diameter. Coat both sides in beaten egg. Coat both sides in breadcrumbs. Fry the fritters on each side until golden brown. Serve hot with chutney and fairtrade lemon quarters as a starter or serve hot as a side dish.

About devouringworldbites

A girl on a mission to cook, eat, and write about the world, one country at a time. View all posts by devouringworldbites

3 responses to “Burkina Faso…

Leave a Reply

