Congo…

Monday, May 21 –

Of all of the dinners that I have made recently, this one is definitely at the top of my list. I’m pretty sure I could have curled up in the warm, comforting flavors of this dinner and simmered a while myself. It was just my Wonderful Boyfriend and me, so it was a quiet, rainy evening with the smell of curry filling the house.

I got three quarters of a pound of ground lamb to add to this recipe, but it would have been just as good made vegetarian. I also chose to leave out the optional potatoes, but they probably would have been great in this as well.

I browned the ground lamb, then added one diced onion and two diced red medium-heat chilies and let them soften. I sprinkled two teaspoons of curry powder, then some salt, pepper, and cayenne over the top and stirred it all together. In next went chopped ginger (about an inch of root), and one diced, salted, squeezed eggplant. Then I put in two diced on-the-vine tomatoes and a small can of tomato paste. On last went just a pinch of sugar and a can of coconut cream. As that simmered for a while I put store-bought naan into the oven to toast.

As I scooped up the curry with the naan and took my first bite, I had to close my eyes to enjoy it. There was spice, sweet, salt, soft eggplant, and browned crispy lamb. Really, I couldn’t have asked for a better dinner.

Congo, “Democratic Republic of the” and “Republic of the”
(recipes borrowed from the cooks at: http://recipes.wikia.com and www.celtnet.org.uk)

Eggplant Curry

  •     2-3 tbsp cooking oil
  •     2 onions, chopped
  •     1-2 tsp curry powder
  •     2 cloves of garlic, minced
  •     1 tsp grated ginger
  •     1-2 hot chile peppers, cleaned and chopped
  •     2 large Eggplants, chopped, lightly salted, and squeezed to partially remove moisture
  •     3-4 potatoes, chopped (optional)
  •     2-3 tomatoes, peeled and chopped
  •     1 small can or tomato paste (optional)
  •     salt, black pepper, cayenne pepper or red pepper (to taste)
  •     ¼ tsp Sugar (optional)
  •     1 cup coconut milk

Directions:

  1. Heat the oil in a large pot. Saute onions for a few minutes, then add curry powder, garlic, ginger, and chili pepper. Continue frying over high heat for a few more minutes, stirring continuously.
  2. Add Eggplant and potatoes, stir fry until Eggplant begins to brown. Reduce heat. Simmer for 10 minutes.
  3. Stir in tomatoes and tomato paste. Adjust seasoning. Simmer until sauce is thickened and everything is tender.
  4. Stir in coconut milk. Serve with boiled rice.
About devouringworldbites

A girl on a mission to cook, eat, and write about the world, one country at a time. View all posts by devouringworldbites

Leave a Reply

