Gibraltar…

Wednesday, January 2 –

Having eleven days off work over the top of Christmas and New Years events really got my blog tangled. Add a cold in on top at the end and you have a much-postponed dinner. Gibraltar was just me and my honey photo(10)having a quiet night at home, no extra people (or extra dishes to do).

I started by chopping two red potatoes, one tomato, and one onion. I chopped them pretty finely, knowing that they needed to be blended at the end. Into the boiling water, veggie cube, and oil they went for fifteen minutes. I added the basil, salt, pepper, and some powdered garlic. In a different pot I boiled the noodles as per the directions on the box. I drained them and set them aside. When the veggies were done boiling I took them off the heat then blended them with an immersion blender.

At this point I just couldn’t quite believe that I was supposed to put a can of baked beans into minestrone soup, so I took a little bowl and spooned some of the soup in, then some beans in, and tasted it. Amazingly enough, it tasted just fine! So into the soup went the baked beans, the noodles, paprika, more basil, salt, pepper, and garlic. I spooned it into bowls and sprinkled Parmesan cheese strips over the top.

Served with crusty garlic french bread, we were ready to eat. It was… well… uneventful. Bland, even. It wasn’t bad, by any means. It just wasn’t something I would choose to make again. Minestrone needs much more to it than that, in my opinion. But it was warm and filling and not a failure, so I’ll take it!

Gibraltar
(recipe borrowed from the cooks at: www.tasty-vegetarian-recipes.com)

Granny’s Minestra

  • 1 Potato
  • 1 Onion
  • 1 Tomato
  • 3 tbsp Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • Some Dried Basil
  • 150g Small pasta shapes
  • 1 Vegetable Cube
  • 1 small tin of Baked Beans
  • 1 tsp Salt
  • Sprinkle of pepper
  • Saffron/paprika

Wash and chop the vegetables. Bring 1 1/2 liters of water to boil in a medium saucepan and add the vegetables together with the Oil and stock cube – boil for 15 minutes on a high heat. Meanwhile, place the pasta into a microwaveable bowl and cook for 5 minutes in the microwave on full power. Drain away excess water. Once the vegetables are soft, blend them with a hand held blender (in the saucepan). Add the pasta shapes to the saucepan together with the baked beans, salt pepper, sprinkle of basil and paprika/saffron, and boil for 10 minutes.

About devouringworldbites

A girl on a mission to cook, eat, and write about the world, one country at a time. View all posts by devouringworldbites

Leave a Reply

