Guadeloupe…

Wednesday, January 16 –

It’s official, I don’t like Chinese Five Spice Blend. I’ve had it twice now and I just can’t get near the stuff. Fail on my taste buds, not necessarily fail on the recipe. I will try to remind myself next time to pass up recipes photo(13)that call for it.

For this recipe I started with chicken drumsticks, which I removed the skin from. I melted butter in a pan and browned the drumsticks on all sides. Then I sprinkled in the spices, garlic, soy sauce, and onion. I let that cook until the onions started getting aromatic and transparent. Then I put in the pineapple from one can, with a splash of the juice. I covered it and let it cook for about twenty minutes on medium low. Then I stirred it, turned the drumsticks over, and turned it up to high to make the sauce bubbly and thick. After ten minutes of that, it was ready to serve.

I boiled some red potatoes to go with this, as well as a salad that BestestFianceEver made. He ate his chicken, salad, and potatoes. I ended up eating salad, potatoes, and part of a drumstick. I just couldn’t do it. We also dumped the leftovers (SAD!!) because neither of us was willing to eat it again. The chicken was tender and flavorful, just not our favorite type of flavor.

Guadeloupe
(recipe borrowed from the cooks at: www.myguadeloupe.ca)

Creole Pineapple Chicken

  • 2½ pounds skinless chicken, cut into big pieces
  • 1 pineapple, diced
  • 1 onion
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 1 tablespoon soy sauce
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 1 tablespoon five-spice powder
  • Pinch Cayenne pepper
  • Oil
  • Salt

Instructions:  Sauté chicken in butter and oil. Once browned, add soy sauce, five-spice, garlic, and onion. Season to taste with salt and pepper. Simmer over low heat, 10 minutes. Add pineapple and cook, 1 hour 15 minutes. Serve hot!

About devouringworldbites

A girl on a mission to cook, eat, and write about the world, one country at a time. View all posts by devouringworldbites

Leave a Reply

