Guyana…

Friday, March 1 –

Fish wrapped in bacon – what could be more delicious? I chose to use halibut because I love the flavor and the texture of it, but I’m sure you could wrap any kind of fish in bacon and be happy with the results. I also photo(10)wrapped portobello mushroom slices in bacon just for fun. Then I sprinkled salt and pepper and squeezed lemon juice over the top of everything. Arranged on a foil-lined baking sheet, I put them into the 350* oven for about 15-20 minutes. Just long enough for the fish to flake apart when tested with a fork. I served the fish and mushroom heaven with a green salad and this cilantro habanero rice recipe.

There wasn’t a scrap of fish or mushroom left after BestestFianceEver, Hot Momma, Wingwoman, BabyBear, and I were done with our plates. I could have probably even made more (I made 12 oz of fish, 2 portobellos cut into slices, 1 lemon, and 1 pound of bacon), but fortunately for our waistlines I didn’t. I highly recommend this way of cooking fish! YUM!

Guyana
(recipe borrowed from the cooks at: www.islandflave.com)

Bacon Fish Rolls

  • 8 Slices of Bacon
  • 8 small fillets of fish
  • Salt and pepper
  • Lemon juice
  • Parsley
  • Rice to serve

Directions:  Roll 1 slice of bacon around one fish fillet and secure with toothpick. Sprinkle salt and pepper over the fish roll. Squeeze some lemon juice. Repeat steps 1 – 3 for each fish fillet. Bake on a greased pan at 350 degrees for about 20 – 30 minutes. Garnish with parsley.

About devouringworldbites

A girl on a mission to cook, eat, and write about the world, one country at a time. View all posts by devouringworldbites

Leave a Reply

