Ivory Coast…

Monday, June 10 –

I knew that this dinner was sneaking up. And I knew that I hadn’t made eggplant in a while, so I decided to go for it. When it got to the day-of, though, it just didn’t sound good. Not only that but boiling it to a paste photo(23)sounded like a terrible idea. (I haven’t ever tried it, however, so I could be wrong.) So instead, since it was just BestestFianceEver and I, I decided to change it up a little bit.

I cut up a quarter of an onion, a quarter of a yellow bell pepper, a quarter of an orange bell pepper, and a quarter of an eggplant. I heated up a little oil in the bottom of a pan, threw the veggies in, sprinkled them with salt and pepper, then dusted them lightly with cumin and turmeric. I let the veggies start to soften and then I pushed them to the side of the pan in a circle, added a little bit more oil to the middle of the pan, and then put the fish on the oil. Once the fish was flaky I put the rice on the plate, the fish next to the rice, and the veggies over the whole thing. BestestFianceEver made us a couple of green salads to go with it (hey, it’s summer and the veggies are perfect, so how could we not have a salad?)

I am really glad that I added just a little bit more flavor to the dish. It was ok, but it definitely could have used more. I picked cod for the fish, which turned out nice and flaky. Not one of my favorite dinners, but not bad!

Ivory Coast
(recipe borrowed from the cooks at: www.celtnet.org.uk)

Poisson Sauce Aubergines (Fish and Eggplant Sauce)

  • 1kg mixed fish fillets
  • 500g aubergines, sliced
  • 300g bell peppers, sliced into strips
  • 100g onions, sliced
  • 250ml oil
  • 400g rice, washed and drained
  • salt and freshly-ground black pepper

Method: Heat the oil in a casserole dish. Add the fish and onions, and fry until well browned all over. At this point add the aubergine and bell pepper slices. Season to taste with salt and black pepper then pour over 2l water. Bring the mixture to a boil, reduce to low simmer, cover and cook gently for 60 minutes. Remove the fish and set aside to keep warm. Strain the stock and set aside. Mash the vegetables in the casserole and add enough of the reserved stock to make a sauce. Pour into a bowl and set aside. Pour the remaining stock into the casserole, add the rice, bring to a simmer, cover and cook for about 20 minutes, or until the rice is tender. Serve the fish on a bed of the rice and accompany with the aubergine sauce.

About devouringworldbites

A girl on a mission to cook, eat, and write about the world, one country at a time. View all posts by devouringworldbites

Leave a Reply

